>Moving Day 1: A Mover Named Elvis

16 Jan

>So it’s begun! Today, a guy came and unhooked our washer and dryer and then three United Van Line employees came to pack up all our stuff. Last night was a little rough–I made it to bed around 2 am after trying to get everything organized and our bags all packed before my back seized up as a result of lifting a too-heavy DI box in and out of the van. And our bags weren’t even packed. So I was a little panicky this morning. But by the time Elvis (yes, his name really is Elvis) and his crew got there and I got our suitcases packed and Clark was playing at Hannah and Leah’s house and Meredith was taking a nap, I was just blissfully watching someone else pack up all my stuff and realizing that I DIDN’T HAVE TO DO IT! After we moved less than 6 months ago, the thought of moving again literally made me ill, but it’s not so bad when someone else does all the dirty work for you. I just happily followed them around with a bottle of Windex and a rag. Sam, on the other hand, had a rough day as he watched all of his many, MANY treasures being packed in a way that he wouldn’t pack them. It’s an exercise in many virtues for the most anal man alive to watch someone handle his personal belongings.

Tonight, we had a yummy, relaxing dinner with our friends Marcie and Matt who have been SO generous and have let us spend the night in their guest bedroom. They’ve offered to let us stay tomorrow night as well and we may take them up on it–we have run a cost-benefit analysis on staying in a hotel near the airport vs. spending the night in Provo.

So yeah…that’s about it. If you drove along 900 E. today and cursed the semi truck that was blocking the right lane, sorry. It’ll be there again tomorrow. 🙂

2 Responses to “>Moving Day 1: A Mover Named Elvis”

  1. Jen January 17, 2008 at 3:01 am #

    >Sorry me. I wish I could just edit. Anyway. . .Professional packers and movers are such a luxury. I’ll never move without them again! Hopefully’s Sam’s stuff isn’t “all shook up” (I know, feel free to launch a rotten tomato in my direction).Jen

  2. Kara January 17, 2008 at 3:47 am #

    >Kate! I passed by your house today and saw the big ol’ truck there. I got so sad that we wouldn’t see you in who knows how long. Good luck with everything! I hope all of Sam’s “treasures” arrive safe and sound for him (Dale would have the exact same response and issue, lol).

Leave a Reply

