>Moving Day 2: Goodbye to the Happy House!

17 Jan

>So we’re out. We’re homeless. But at least it’s homeless in a fun way and not in a sipping-booze-from-a-bottle-in-a-brown-paper-bag way. We decided to spend the night again at Marcie’s house instead of staying at the hotel in SLC and I’m glad we did–driving to Salt Lake tonight would have been YET another thing to do.

So what happened today? The highlights include 1 diaper blow-out, minus any extra outfits, which resulted in one white-trashy trip to K-mart to buy a white-trashy K-mart baby outfit. 1 torn fingernail, resulting in 1 box of Snoopy Bandaids because they were the cheapest ones I could find at the grocery store. 1 almost-parking ticket and 1 threat from a police officer to the movers to have the truck packed up in two more hours or to get a ticket. One chewing-out from the next-door neighbor regarding said truck. 1 decision to never live on a busy road (let alone with a short, steep driveway) ever again. 1 getting-stuck incident in my friend’s driveway after dropping off Clark for the day. Several spider carcasses swept out of the garage. 150 boxes loaded onto a truck and I didn’t have to do any of them.

What else? Hmmmm…it was a balmy 17 degrees today. I guess Utah is cold in January; who knew?? 🙂 We went to Costa Vida one last time and said goodbye to Sam’s brother and then said goodbye to the house one last time. You know, we only lived there a few months, but it felt more like home than where we’d lived for three years prior. I’m not really a touchy-feely vibey kind of person (at least not in the way of the lesbian massage therapist who once told me my back hurt because my yin and yang were out of balance), but I think our house was a happy house; it had good vibes. It was kooky and weird with the rust and orange and red and green carpets (not all in the same room, thank goodness!) and the turquoise kitchen and the macabre-ish bathroom, but…I can’t exactly nail the feeling down more than just saying it was a happy house. And for us, it was.

5 Responses to “>Moving Day 2: Goodbye to the Happy House!”

  1. teeny January 17, 2008 at 10:43 am #

    >i’m sad that this part of your life is over but happy you are going on a great adventure. along with a job! see you tomorrow. i know, i’m up really late but had to get things done. love, teeny

  2. Kathi and Ryan January 17, 2008 at 5:19 pm #

    >I was just wondering how things were going with the moving. Being in limbo is tough, but it’ll be over soon. I totally know what you mean about the happy house. We lived in a small house in Provo for just 3 months before we were transferred out here, and that was my most favorite residence of our very many of our married life. I don’t know what it was, but it just felt like home. Of course, that HAD to be the place we lived in for only a few months (and maybe that’s WHY it felt like home? because we didn’t have time to get sick of it? who knows…) Glad to see you’re alive and kicking and hopefully you’ll arrive in the good ole South with your family in one piece (well, 4 pieces actually, but you know what I mean…)

  3. Sara January 18, 2008 at 1:46 am #

    >Teeny- what the heck are you doing awake at 3:45am??? You’re crazy woman!Kate- have a fun time in Seattle! Wish I was there too. Say hi to the J crew for me.

  4. Lisa January 18, 2008 at 10:17 pm #

    >You are on your way! Yeah, what were you thinking when you decided to live on 9th East anyway? I think your house was a happy house because I was there when you moved in. *I* was the one who left my special “good-Karma-blessing” on the house.

  5. White Cat January 19, 2008 at 8:48 pm #

    >OK, little sister, so what is wrong with the concept of yin and yang? Maybe a more palatable term would be “there are opposites in all things…?. Sound familiar?Now that we have THAT out of the way; I am so excited for you guys and looking forward to you being closer to us! I missed your call the other day but you never did call me back after I left you a message. Hopefully I will hear from you soon. We’re having a thunderstorm here right now! Call me when you arrive in your new state!Be safe – Love you.Heidi

Leave a Reply

