>Mayhem, Dave!

13 Feb

>Things here have been crazy. They say that buying a house is one of the most stressful things you’ll ever do, and I’ll believe it! At least it’s been relatively good stress, not “I feel like my life is falling apart stress,” you know?

Anyway, last week, we had our home inspection. The inspector said everything looked pretty good, especially for an 80-year-old house, but…dum dum dum…the foundation needed repairs. That is NOT what you want to hear. So this last week, we’ve been waiting for the foundation guy, plus a couple of other subcontractors, to come take a look at some things that may need to be repaired. We were particularly worried about the foundation guy because he only comes out once a week (on Fridays), that was our big-ticket, deal-breaking item, and our inspection requests are due on Monday.

Well, the roof guy was supposed to come on Wednesday. Didn’t show. Thursday? It snowed. Friday? Still snowy and very cold. So no roof guy. The electrician was supposed to come out yesterday. No-show. So imagine my distress at 4:30 when the foundation guy still hadn’t shown up. I was a big ball of nerves. I had to change my ringtone from the Chuck theme song to something a little more mellow because everytime my phone rang, I about jumped out of my skin.

Fortunately, the foundation guy did come. Also, fortunately, the foundation is in great shape and doesn’t need any repairs. The house isn’t level, but from a structural point of view, it’s just fine. He said if it’s annoying or if we just want to have it leveled, we can, but it’s an 80-year-old foundation that has another 100 years. Phew. A lot of worry for nothing.

So we close in 9 days! I figure it’s not over ’til it’s over, and no celebrating until we have the keys in our hands, but I’m hoping we’re through the worst of it. Now onto packing…

Oh, I did have a Devil Dog incident this week. Like I said, we’ve had some CRAZY weather for Louisiana this week. I swear to you, Devil Dog’s owners are in some kind of dog fighting business and not only do they allow their dogs to roam the neighborhood freely, but they also allow them to reproduce freely. As nearly as I can tell, there are at least 2 females and at least 1 male, so there’s always at least one litter of puppies roaming with the older dogs (can I tell you how excited I am to leave this street??)

Anyway, when I came home the other day, two of Devil Dog’s puppies came bounding over and then an adolescent German Shepherd and a fully-grown, tiny, twitchy, hump-everything-in-sight mutt came running over. I’d never seen the German Shepherd or the mutt before, but they were very sweet (and cold). So we played for a little while and then I went inside. The two puppies and the other two were just huddling with each other to stay warm on our porch.

In our town, the animal shelter closes at 3:00 pm (of course…because animals stop roaming at 3:00 in the afternoon). Not wanting to send the puppies back to Devil Dog’s house, someone in the ward came and picked them up for the weekend (it’s supposed to warm up next week). I got a box and a blanket for the German Shepherd and the mutt, but even still, they were both shivering and crying on our front porch. We felt so bad for them that we brought them inside, gave them a bath and some food and water (“some” is quite the understatement–they were either starving or enormous eaters), and let them sleep in the kitchen (from which they escaped at some point in the middle of the night and proceeded to pee and poop all over the house).

Sweet as the doggies were, they had to go. I loaded them into the van and called the animal shelter to let them know we were coming and they informed me that because of the snow, no one could get up or down the hill, so no animals until close to closing time. Nuts. So I turned around, went back home, and let the animals out to pee. They promptly met up with the Devil Dogs and started running around the neighborhood. Then I saw some dude from Devil Dog’s house on a 4-wheeler (we do NOT live in the country) who seemed to be happy to see the mutt and the German Shepherd. So, assuming the dogs were indeed part of the Devil Dog pack, I let ’em go.

Well…the dogs proceeded to run through the neighborhood all day. They scratched on our door from time to time and tried to get into the car with me when I went to check on the foundation inspector. After I managed to drive away, I saw the same guy on his 4-wheeler and, being the sly fox that I am, had the following conversation with him:

Kate: Hey, do you buy any chance know who that German Shepherd and the other dog belong to?
4-Wheelin’ Guy: Nope [yeah right, dude]–I’ve seem them running through the neighborhood today, but I don’t know who they belong to.
Kate: Yeah, they were hanging out on our front porch last night and we felt so bad for them that we let them sleep in our kitchen, but we’re trying to move and can’t hold onto them until we find their owner. I wish I knew who they belonged to because I really don’t want to have to take them to the pound…
4-Wheelin’ Guy: Yeah, that would suck.

I was gone for about 10 minutes and when I got back, the German Shepherd, mutt, and ALL the Devil Dogs were not running around the neighborhood and I haven’t seen them since.

2 Responses to “>Mayhem, Dave!”

  1. Shelby February 13, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    >that is hilarious! i really cannot believe your dog situation. i can imagine you are going to be very happy to not have to deal with it anymore. good luck on the house front!

  2. teeny February 14, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    >way to go kate! hold your ground. can't believe it snowed. we haven't had any this year. i shouldn't say the cause it will probaly snow tomorrow.love

Leave a Reply

